Minutes for the meeting held on March 24, 2008


The Newtown Township Environmental Advisory Council met on Monday, January 28, 2008 in the Township Building. In attendance and voting were: Jay McGuigan, Vice-Chairman, Dennis Annarelli, Michael Kaner, and Walter Leck, members.

Call To Order

Mr. McGuigan called the meeting to order at 7:30 PM.

Approval of Minutes

Dr. Annarelli noted a number of places where his and Ms. Aslam’s names were interchanged.

Dr. Annarelli moved to accept the minutes of February 25, 2008 as corrected. Mr. McGuigan seconded and the motion passed 4-0.

Public Comment

Henry De Silva and Candido Rodriguez first asked that the minutes reflect that there is not a mandate for leaf collection for smaller municipalities like Newtown Township and that grant money is available only for hardware and equipment, not labor for leaf collection.

Mr. Leck discussed the procedures for leaf collection, noting how difficult it is to separate leaf and yard waste from other trash.

Dr. DeSilva asked the EAC to help with publicity for a meeting scheduled by the Sierra Club on May 21, 2008 at the Newtown Township Building. The information meeting will address asking municipalities to sign onto an agreement to reduce greenhouse gases by 20% by 2012. The Sierra Club will provide information on how governments can lead the way by example, will help establish baseline numbers for greenhouse gases, and will aid in grant writing. This is a U.S. Mayors Climate Change Initiative. Dr. DeSilva also asked whether the Township would allow the use of its video equipment and would televise the meeting, either live or recorded, on the government channel.

Dr. DeSilva invited members to attend am environmental program at Lower Makefield on Saturday, May 10 at the municipal complex, and a Green Public Schools program at Lower Makefield municipal complex on March 31, 2008.

Wildlife Management

Mr. McGuigan provided updated data on deer/car accidents in the Township. He noted again the increase in accidents at dawn and dusk. He will make this information available on the Township Web site when it is in final form.

EcoStar Award

Dr. Kaner said that he has one corporate application from Signature Medicine and an application from the Council Rock Art Department. He has attempted to contact the science teachers directly about the applications, but extended the deadline in his letter to April 30. He would like to discuss the merits of applications at the April meeting.

The recording secretary provided copies of the application she completed with the Art Department of Council Rock School District.

Open Space Inventory

The Open Space Comp Plan Update committee will consist of Dr. McEachron and Mr. McGuigan of EAC, Andrew Levine and Susan Sutton of the Park and Rec Board and Jay Sensibaugh and Peggy Driscoll of the Planning Commission. No Board of Supervisors liaison has been assigned. The County is preparing guidelines for the update, which should make it easier for municipalities to just revise their 1997 plans. An updated Open Space Comp Plan is necessary when applying for funds from the County for its open space initiative.

Dr. De Silva advised the Council to contact Chris Pollard at DVRPC for help with mapping.

Mr. McGuigan moved to adjourn at 8:45 PM. Dr. Kaner seconded and the motion passed 4-0.


Respectfully submitted by:


Mary Donaldson, Recording Secretary