Newtown Township

Technology Committee

Minutes of the meeting of November 29, 2011

The Newtown Township Technology Committee met on November 29, 2011 in the Newtown Township Building. In attendance and voting were: Chairman Ed Lipski, Kyle Davis, Bob Penland, Prasad Ramnath and Jon Schnell, members.

Call to Order: Mr. Lipski called the meeting to order at 7:30 PM.

Approval of Minutes: Mr. Lipski moved to approve the minutes of September 27, 2011. Mr. Davis seconded and the motion passed 4-0.

Five Year IT Plan

The members briefly discussed progress made on the plan during the on-line meetings. The plan has incorporated information gained from meetings with the Police and Fire Departments. The members agreed to table the work until after the holiday season, as the Township has already advertised its budget and will not be acting on the plan during 2011.


Mr. Davis said that he would speak to the administrative assistant about the use of Docstar to gain a better understanding of the Township’s needs. There have been newer versions of Docstar released; he would like to compare the new versions to current usage.

Business Continuity

Mr. Paramesh will speak to Alan Herr and create a template for business continuity. He suggested that perhaps Township technology employee Beth Leone could attend a meeting in the New Year to discuss this as well. If possible this would be the only agenda item.

Mr. Lipski said that he would work with Mr. Paramesh on the template. He already has most of the information needed. This work could be done on-line.


Mr. Penland said that he will speak to the Township manager about installing Spiceworks on the Township’s computers to help document the number of programs being used by each department.

Member Comments

Mr. Penland said that a lot of the ideas this committee has discussed could be worked on during the business day by a summer intern. It might be possible to work with a college to establish an internship program and get some things moving forward next year.

The meeting adjourned at 8:30 PM.


Respectfully Submitted:


Mary Donaldson, Recording Secretary